Early Spring Scents

IMG_5520By the time I got to the supermarket this week the best flowers had sold out, so instead I looked at what was in my garden.  At this time of year flowers are delicate and sometimes inconspicuous and can be easy to miss, but brought inside and put in a little vase or cup can be really appreciated.  They also can have an amazing scent, just a little sprig can fill a room with fragrance.  I found Winter Box, Sarcococca confusa which is coming to an end of its flowering, but still had some of its tiny fragrant flowers and shiny black berries.  I also cut a piece of Daphne, whose pink flowers fill my garden with a strong scent.  The hellebore although unscented, I floated in a small cup so I could see its lovely subtle colouring.

IMG_5523Other scented flowers you may find in your garden are, Winter Iris, Witch Hazel, Viburnum bodnantense, hyacinths, daffodils, some crocus and a little later some varieties of tulips.  Just pick what catches your eye or nose!

 

Leave a comment