Seaside Roses

roseshell

A simple modern design of soft peach roses in a cube vase complemented by seashells for a summery feel.  This would also work with white or cream roses, or other colours could be accessorized with glass cubes/marbles, pebbles.  If you were having a party this design could be repeated in sets of 3 or 5 to create a lovely table centrepiece surrounded by nightlights.

“I’d rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck.”

Emma Goldman – well maybe both would be good!

How to Create

I used a glass cube about 12cm square, which I filled about halfway with mixed shells.  Dilute your flower food and pour into the vase.  I then created a grid using narrow sellotape across the top of the vase.  You will need to create gaps for 9 roses, so 2 lengths of sellotape in each direction.  Try not to bring the sellotape too far down sides of the vase that way it won’t be visible.  I selected the 9 best roses from my bunch, and cut the stems so they would fit above the shells, remove all remaining leaves.  I then slotted each rose into the grid, as more roses are added they support each other.   Make sure the water reaches the rose stems and top up a little if needed.

Leave a Reply

